Star batsman Yuvraj Singh has been named in the Indian One-Day International (ODI) and T20 squads for the three-match series against England, led by new skipper Virat Kohli, starting on January 15, BCCI’s Chairman of Selectors MSK Prasad announced on Friday.

MS Dhoni, who on Wednesday stepped down as India’s limited-overs skipper, was included in both the squads as a wicketkeeper-batsman.

Uncapped Delhi wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant was named in the T20I squad. Young Pant has had a breakthrough domestic season with scoring 972 runs at an average of 81, including a triple century, in the Ranji Trophy.

Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane were recalled to the team after being out due to injuries by the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) selection panel.
All-rounders Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, who were rested for the New Zealand ODIs, are also back in the squad. The duo played in the five Tests against England.
Veteran left-hander Suresh Raina, who was ignored for the England ODIs, found himself along with pacer Ashish Nehra in the squad for the three T20Is. Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant was named in the T20 squad.

With India missing several key players, including middle-order batsman Rohit Sharma, the selectors also announced the surprise recall of the big-hitting veteran Yuvraj.

“Virat was with us on Skype” for the selection meeting in Mumbai, Prasad told reporters. “After discussing with him, this is the best possible team we have. It’s a fantastic team.”
ODI squad: Virat Kohli (C), MS Dhoni (wicket keeper) KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Amit Mishra, J Bumrah, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

T20 squad: Virat Kohli (C), MS Dhoni, Mandeep Singh, K L Rahul, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Y Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra.

Schedule: 1st ODI (January 15, Pune), 2nd ODI (January 19, Cuttack), 3rd ODI (January 22, Kolkata); 1st T20 (January 26, Kanpur), 2nd T20 (January 29, Nagpur), 3rd T20 (February 1, Bengaluru).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here